Please note that the printed version of this page will include opening times and other useful information for each property/event.
Before heading out for your Heritage Open Days visit, please check entries at www.heritageopendays.org.uk for last-minute changes.
Nenthead Mines, Nenthead, Alston, Cumbria, CA9 3PD
Nenthead Mines is set within the North Pennines AONB. It is a Site of Special Scientific Interest (for its geology) and a Scheduled Ancient Monument. Go on an underground tour of Carrs Lead Mine and explore workings beneath Victorian England’s highest and largest lead mining complex, parts of which are 350 years old. Explore the stories of silver, lead and zinc and the miners who worked there. Exhibition of artefacts & minerals. There are pleasant walks to discover the geology, history, animal and plant life over 200 acres of woodland & moorland. Home made cakes & drinks. Free car park with toilets. Refreshments and shop available in the village. There is no age limit to visit the site, but the mine tour is not suitable for the under fives. All children under the age of 18 must be accompanied by an adult. Play area next to car park.
Booking Details: Site open to visit but booking required for mine tours. Contact: Peter Jackson Call: 07718 385646 Email: email@example.com Write to: 41 Cranswick Close, Billingham, Stockton. TS23 3NH
Access Information: This is a real mine site and therefore an unsafe area beyond designated footpaths. Take special care of children at all times, especially near water and please keep dogs on a lead. 12 person only on each mine tour. The mine is not wheelchair or pushchair friendly.
Additional Information: Max 12 people per tour/session. The mine site is in the ownership of Cumbria County Council and is managed by Nenthead Mines Conservation Society. We are a volunteer group made up of mining enthusiasts both local and UK wide. Our aim is to conserve the site above and below ground. The vast underground area is the best and most accessible site in the UK and is visited and supported by a large number of dedicated mining enthusiasts. New members to our society are very welcome.
Directions: Leave the M6 at junction 40, take the A686 to Alston. At Alston follow the A689 for about 5 miles to Nenthead. There are directional signs in the village and a large free car park.
Ambleside Roman Fort, Borrans Road, Waterhead, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 0HN
Visit the remains of a Roman fort built in the reign of Emperor Hadrian and hear a talk on the history of the fort given by archaeologist Percival Turnbull.
Access Information: The site is situated in a field with uneven ground and may not be suitable for persons with mobility difficulties. Pay and display parking, public toilets and refreshments are available at Waterhead, a short distance to the south.
Directions: Ambleside Roman Fort is located at the northern tip of Windermere, close to the A5075 at the western side of Borrans Park. Access to the fort is gained through a pedestrian gate. Bus services 555 and 599 pass the site.
Armitt Museum, Rydal Road, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9BL
Visit www.armitt.com for full details of exhibits available. The current exhibition is entitled Beatrix Potter - Image and Reality, the Museum houses many of Beatrix Potter's original botanical paintings. Families with children are very welcome.
Directions: Entrance to the Museum is almost directly opposite the entrance to main Rydal Road car park in the grounds of the University of Cumbria.
Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 0NS
Step inside this charming old building to enjoy an exhibition of Beatrix Potter's original drawings and watercolours. This unique gallery space occupies the 17th century office which once served as the workplace of Beatrix Potter's solicitor husband. This year we discover what it was like to go ‘On holiday with Beatrix Potter’ and how her unique travels inspired her wonderful stories. Follow our children's trail, try the quiz, read a story in our cosy corner and use our touch screens and audio points to find out more about the fascinating woman.
Access Information: One step down to off street entrance, followed immediately with tight corner. 11 steps to first floor with 4 rooms of artwork.
Directions: Next door to The Red Lion pub.
Near Ferry House, Far Sawrey, near Hawkshead, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 0LP
Claife Viewing Station is an old Victorian viewing point, overlooking Windermere. It was built in the 1790s and was fashionable with tourists in the 1830s and 40s, who would come in search of the thrill of the ‘Picturesque', following the earliest guide books. It is currently being renovated by the National Trust, so once complete, you will be able to visit like a Victorian and enjoy the lake-side views from this unique point on the west shore of Windermere. Find out more about the work and see the new interpretation on Heritage Open Day.
Access Information: Access to the top of the viewing station is up an uneven track with steps. Restoration and building work is being carried out around Claife Viewing Station at the moment so there may be limited access.
Additional Information: There is plenty of space for picnics, walks and cycling nearby. Come over on the ferry and bring your bikes. Visit the Ash Landing Nature Reserve or stroll along the Windermere west shore track to Wray Castle.
Directions: If you come over on the Ferry from Bowness, Claife is just a few hundred yards from the ferry landing.
North Road, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9DT
An historic barn now used as a workshop and store this building is believed to be one of the oldest in Ambleside and has historic cruck beams.
Access Information: Disabled parking, toilets and refreshments are all available within a short distance in Ambleside centre.
Additional Information: Please note, this is a working establishment and visitors must take care when entering or moving around.
Directions: Faulkner's workshop can be found near the junction of North Road and Kirkstone Road and is within walking distance of the main car park on the A591, Rydal Road, and all other village amenities.
Hawkshead, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 0NS
Just north of Hawkshead village is the courthouse, which dates from the 15th century and is all that remains of the village manorial buildings once held by Furness Abbey. The building will be open to all on this day with extra information provided.
Access Information: The Courthouse is only accessible on foot from Hawkshead. There is no on-site parking available - suggested parking is at the main Hawkshead car park. Rough track from road to Courthouse. The building has a number of steps into the main room and has uneven floors.
Directions: The courthouse is just outside the village of Hawkshead, to the north. There is no parking on site.
Near Sawrey, Hawkshead, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 0LF
Enjoy the tale of Beatrix Potter. Full of her favourite things, her beloved Hill Top is a time capsule of this amazing woman's life. Walk in her footsteps as you explore the delightful garden too: a haphazard mix of flowers, herbs, fruit and vegetables. Hill Top provided Beatrix with the inspiration for many of her children's tales. You can walk in the garden where Tom Kitten and his sisters played, find Jemima Puddle-Duck's egg in the rhubarb patch, and keep a look out for the rat holes once lived in by Samuel and Anna-Maria Whiskers! Children's garden trail.
Access Information: W/chr access to two rooms on ground floor and garden; ask at ticket office for details. Accessible parking space and entrance 10 yards from house, through a gate and down rough track. Assistance dogs only. Nearest accessible toilets 2 miles away in Hawkshead National Park car park.
Additional Information: Hill Top can be very busy and visitors may sometimes have to wait to visit the House. Early sell-outs are possible. Why not leave the car at home and visit by boat, bus, boot or bike? See Windermere Cross Lakes Experience website (not NT) via www.mountain-goat.com or www.windermere-lakecruises.co.uk
Chapel Stile, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9JG
Church built in 1858 Gothic style, stained glass includes St Francis window designed and made in the valley. Millennium tapestry showing the story of the valley. Graves of the historian GM Trevelyan & Owen Lloyd (Wordsworth's nephew) with epitaph by the poet.
Access Information: Disabled parking on road below the church wall. Disabled access at West gate only.
Additional Information: Refreshments available 1100-1700 on Thursday, Friday & Saturday. Church service on Sunday at 1030. Church will open afterwards until 1800. Disabled parking on the road below the church wall. Disabled access at East gate only.
Directions: Grid reference: NY321055 The church is in a commanding position overlooking the village of Chapel Stile.
Cylinders, Elterwater, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9JB
Visit the restored Merz Barn where international artist Kurt Schwitters created his last great installation after coming to England to escape the Nazi regime in 1940. A full size representation of the Merzbau will be displayed in the Merzbarn. The original is now displayed in the Hatton Gallery at Newcastle University. Exhibition of photographs and information on Schwitters life, his work in England, and background information on Dada, Modernism, and the cultural politics of the time.
Access Information: Children should be supervised.
Additional Information: Green open spaces surround the barn, plus a pleasant seating area for picnics. Dogs should be kept on a lead to protect the wildlife.
Directions: The entry to the Merz Barn is immediately opposite the entrance to the Langdale Hotel, on the road past Elterwater towards Chapel Stile.
Vicarage Road, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9DH
A 19th century parish church designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott with an interesting 'Rush Bearing' mural to be seen on the right on entering, the Wordsworth Memorial Chapel and outstanding new wood work installed during the re-ordering of the church in 2010 and the subject of an Ambleside Civic Trust Award. Information leaflets are available in the Church. St Mary's is located very close to the centre of Ambleside. Ample car parking, toilets, coffee shops and restaurants are all available within a few minutes walk of the church.
Additional Information: The Church Warden is Mr Rob Ashworth who can be contacted on 015394 35930.
Directions: The spire of St Mary's is readily visible from most points in Ambleside.
Market Cross, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9BS
A gentle stroll through the historic heart of old Ambleside to see many of the listed buildings and other places with historic significance to the village. Families are welcome but there are some steep up-hill stretches on the walk.
Booking Details: Please call to book. Contact: Mike Blackburn Call: 015394 34087
Access Information: Disabled parking and toilets are available in the main car parks in Ambleside.
Additional Information: All of the walk is within easy strolling distance of the public toilets, coffee shops and restaurants in Ambleside.
Directions: Meet outside the Tourist Information Centre/Post Office.
Low Wray, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 0JA
Family fun, whatever the weather at this Victorian mock Gothic castle. Take a guided tour (every hour), dress up as king or queen of the castle, or simply relax in our pop-up cafe with a view. Why not take a stroll through the beautiful grounds and arboretum over-looking Lake Windermere too? If you're feeling energetic, you can always build a den, climb a tree or skim a stone! There's lots to do even if it's raining! Children of all ages will enjoy dressing up, playing games and castle building. In the castle grounds there are trees to climb, mini-beasts to find and an outdoor adventure play area.
Access Information: W/chr access to ground floor only, through separate entrance, please ask at reception. Many steps to main entrance. Assistance dogs only.
Additional Information: The car park can get full at busy times so we’d like to suggest that, if you can, you leave the car behind and use bus, boat, or bike to visit us for the day. You can catch a bus from Hawkshead or Ambleside, or take a boat trip from the Waterhead pier at Ambleside. There’s usually a car and passenger ferry that runs between Windermere / Bowness and Far Sawrey.
High Close, Loughrigg, Ambleside, Cumbria, LA22 9HJ
A stunning Victorian mansion owned by the National Trust and leased by the YHA set within sixteen acres of gardens in the heart of the Lake District National Park. Come along and experience our fantastic views all the way down to Bowness, and wander the gardens that are currently being restored by NT volunteers. Then take the self-led High Close tour of the interior, examining the oak-lined Great Hall, the Butler's Pantry and old Dairy Cellar. Then take a break at our tea room for a cup of tea, some homemade cake and a chat with the YHA warden about the good old days! Extensive gardens for children to explore and High Close Treasure Hunt indoors as well as a games room including pool table, table football and table tennis.
Access Information: Although the interior is wheelchair accessible we do not have a disabled toilet on site.
Directions: We're perched on our hillside at the top of Red Bank from Grasmere or straight up the fell opposite Elterwater. Follow signs for High Close or YHA.
Start from The Cloisters Market Square, Appleby in Westmorland, Appleby in Westmorland, Cumbria, CA16 6XE
A Blue Badge Guided walk around Historic Appleby in Westmorland led by Ron Smith, experienced Guide. Event not suitable for children under the age of 5.
Directions: The Cloisters are in the Market Square facing Boroughgate and the Moot Hall. Meet at 11:15.
St Lawrence's Church, Appleby in Westmorland, Cumbria
An Exhibition of photographs and memorabilia of Appleby in the First World War.
Drybeck Hall, Drybeck, Appleby in Westmorland, Cumbria, CA16 6TF
Drybeck Hall dates from 1679. It is Grade II listed and a typical Cumbrian cross passage house with attached bank barn. Portraits of Lady Anne Clifford and her family from 15th Century. Tours on the hour.
Access Information: There are some outside steps with handrail up to the barn entrance.
Additional Information: Donations will be given to to Appleby St Lawrence's Church Funds.
Directions: From Appleby, B6260 towards Orton. Take 2nd sign to Drybeck on left. Left at bottom of hill through village and left at fork. Drybeck Hall is on left. No public transport.
Boroughgate, Appleby in Westmorland, Cumbria, CA16 6XQ
17th century almshouse, built by Lady Anne Clifford for retired gentlewomen. Chapel to be open to public, stewards available as guides. Dwellings built round courtyard. Please remember to respect the privacy of the residents.
Access Information: Cobbled and flagged courtyard may be uneven. Care needed. Small chapel.
Directions: St Ann's Hospital is at the top of Boroughgate, near the Castle. Free on street car parking is available with a free disc from the Tourist Information Centre or any of the shops.
St Lawrence's Church, Appleby in Westmorland, Cumbria, CA16 6QW
Dating from the 12th century the Church has a fine organ, massive pitchpine pews with medieval-heraldic carving. Significant associations with Lady Anne Clifford who was responsible for this and other restoration work in the area. She is buried in the Church. Her memorial and the alabaster monument to her mother, Countess of Cumberland are next to each other. "Soul Space", an interactive opportunity to explore worship through prayer using the whole of the historic church. Church members and staff available to welcome and guide round building. Refreshments and hospitality.
Directions: The Church is at the bottom of Boroughgate, through the Cloisters, off the Market Square. Free Parking on the street in the disc zone is available with a free disc from the Tourist Information Centre or any of the shops.
Boroughgate, Appleby in Westmorland, Cumbria, CA16 6XE
Medieval Moot Hall, now used as council chambers. Chance to look around the Chamber and Mayor's Parlour. Mayor and Councillors available to talk to about the historic building, its history and treasures, and the history of the town.
Access Information: The Chamber is accessed by an outside staircase of about eight steps. The floor is carpeted but uneven. There is no wheelchair access to the Chamber.
Directions: The Moot Hall is the white building in the middle of the Market Square. Free parking on the street is available with a free disc from the Tourist Information Centre or any of the shops.
Cumbria Archive and Local Studies Centre, 140 Duke Street, Barrow in Furness, Cumbria, LA14 1XW
If you have ever wondered what lies behind the heavy metal door at the bottom of our searchroom, now is your chance to find out. Book yourself on a strongroom tour and enjoy this unique opportunity to have a look at our specialist storage facility where we house our historical collections. Alternatively speak to our expert staff for advice about your research interests (family history, property history, local history etc). We are here to help!
Booking Details: Call: 01229 407377 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Booking opens: 28 August 2014 00:00 Booking closes: 10 September 2014 00:00
Access Information: Bags (including handbags), cases and coats are not allowed in the searchroom. Please place these items in the lockers provided.
Additional Information: Max 8 people per tour/session.
Directions: Barrow Archive is joined to the main public library on Ramsden Square.
Dalton Castle, Market Square, Barrow in Furness, Cumbria, LA15 8AX
14th century tower, formely the manorial court house of Furness Abbey. Much altered over the years, but now contains a small exhibition room with local memorabilia and dungeon with glass viewer in floor. Larger Great room upstairs, with additional exhibition about the artist George Romney.
Access Information: There are two steps up to the Castle door from the street. There are also multiple steps up to the first floor.
Directions: Follow the main road through Barrow, after about a mile you will see the Castle on the left hand side. There is some parking around the Castle.
Town Hall, Duke Street, Barrow in Furness, Cumbria, LA14 2LD
Visit the Queen's Hall, Banqueting Hall with Minstrels Gallery, Council Chamber and Mayor's Parlour.
Additional Information: Barrow Town Hall is a stunning Victorian building.
Directions: Barrow Town Hall is located on Duke Street between Cornwallis Street and Market Street opposite the Forum Theatre and Arts Complex.
Court Square, Citadel Gardens, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 8NA
A look behind the scenes of this Grade I listed building. Near to the site of the 12th century english gate it became a citadel on the orders of Henry VIII, the city gaol in the 15th century and the Crown Court in 1822. You will see the Condemned Cell, the later cells, the Old Court room, the Crown Court and Grand Jury room as available.
Booking Details: Contact: Carol Donnelly Call: 01228 670 578 Email: email@example.com
Access Information: Several steps involved in each tour.
Directions: Near Carlisle train station.
Lowther Street, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 8DA
Built in 1843, a non-conformist church visited by U.S. President Woodrow WIlson in December 1918 - his grandfather had been the minister. Woodrow Wilson had family connections and a great liking for the city and country.
Directions: City Centre, 5 minutes from railway station and bus station. Car parking 10 minutes away.
St Mary's Church, Beaumont, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA5 6EF
St Mary's Church is set in a commanding position offering fine views of the Solway and the surrounding countryside. This was the site of a Roman turret (70A) on Hadrian's Wall. Later the mound on which the 12th century church stands was the site of a Norman motte (a small castle) belonging to the Le Brun family. The village green was the castle's bailey or courtyard. The simplicity of the light interior of this small church offers the visitor a peaceful place to absorb the history of this place, described on three panels covering pre-historic times to the present day. This is the only church built on the line of Hadrian's Wall. Grade II* Listed.
Access Information: Level access into the church but approached by steps or a steep gravelled path.
Burgh by Sands, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA5 6AW
St Michael's, Burgh-by-Sands is a beautiful Grade I listed Norman church. Visitor display area with history of the Roman fort on which the church stands. King Edward I lay in state here, following his death nearby. Tower tours to first floor level, guided tours, refreshments. Take a "walk through time" in the churchyard, with the time line stones. Children's quiz sheet, free squash, tea, coffee, biscuits, families welcome.
Access Information: Full wheelchair access except for Tower tours.
Additional Information: Tower tours to first floor level - minimum age 8. 8-16s must be accompanied by an adult. Tower tours will be run on the hour. Maximum of 8 people per tour.
Directions: Leave Carlisle via Newton Road (past Cumberland Infirmary), right at Burgh Road, follow signs to Burgh-by-Sands. Church is on main road near entrance to village.
Cartmel Priory Gatehouse, The Square, Cavendish Street, Cartmel, Cumbria, LA11 6QB
The Gatehouse is, along with the Priory itself, the only remaining part of the 12th century Augustinian Priory at Cartmel. The gatehouse itself was built in the 14th century as a response to Scottish raids into Furness. The Great Hall above the archway is open to the public during Heritage Open Days.
Access Information: Please note that access to the property is up a flight of spiral stairs.
Directions: Parking at Cartmel Racecourse.
Castlegate, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9EU
A guided tour of the castle grounds led by Cockermouth Civic Trust and by the kind permission of the owners, Lord & Lady Lady Egremont. The tour will last up to 1½ hours. The Normans built the first castle in Cockermouth in the 12th century, utilising stone from the Roman settlement, in what is now called Papcastle. Significant additions were made in the 13th and 14th centuries, and the castle played a significant role in the Wars of the Roses, and the Civil Wars of the 1640s. After this it was dismantled on the orders of Parliament, and much of it is still in a ruinous condition. Part of the castle is now a home of Lord & Lady Egremont, with the ruins being part of the castle garden. Event not suitable for children under the age of 7.
Booking Details: Tickets must be obtained in advance from Cockermouth Tourist Information Centre. This is in Kings Arms Lane off Main Street, between Boots & Cockermouth Travel. Contact: Cockermouth Tourist Information Centre Call: 01900 822634 Write to: 4 Kings Arms Lane, Cockermouth Booking opens: 1 July 2014 Booking closes: 6 September 2014
Access Information: The tour is over very uneven ground at different levels and is not suitable for young children, wheelchairs or the infirm. No pets please.
Additional Information: Max 30 people per tour/session. This tour is outdoors and involves walking across uneven ground, climbs steep steps and requires some agility. Please wear sensible shoes and clothing and be aware of your own health & safety.
Directions: The castle is secluded from the road but the tour meeting point is outside the castle gates on Castlegate.
Cockermouth School, Castlegate Drive, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9HF
Cockermouth School is celebrating its 30th anniversary in 2014 as Cockermouth Comprehensive School and this open day is part of their celebrations. The school opened its Eco Centre in 2007 - a unique and innovative multi-functional teaching/learning and community facility. It was designed specifically to minimise its environmental impact and to act as a showcase for sustainable design. It has underfloor heating fed by a geothermal system, heat pumps, a range of renewable technology and energy saving devices (such as sheep's wool insulation) and the foundations are made from recycled drums. The visit will include talks about the building of the Eco Centre, a video about the sustainable building process, a tour of the 3 biomes which replicate different climatic conditions including an arid section, a rainforest and a Mediterranean section.
Directions: The Eco Centre is on the right hand side (East) of the main School buildings.
Bassenthwaite Lake, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9SH
Higham Hall is a beautifully restored 19th century Gothic mansion with well-tended gardens and wonderful views of Skiddaw and the Northern Lake District Fells. Having been a residential college for 30 years, Higham is now an independent, educational trust providing short courses for people of all ages and levels of experience. The hall and gardens are open today. You will be guided round the building, be able to talk to the gardeners and enjoy the views. Tea and Higham cakes are available.
Directions: Higham Hall is on a country road to the East of Cockermouth not far from Bassenthwaite Lake. The easiest route is from the A66 & take the turning just north of Bassenthwaite Lake signposted Dubwath & Castle Inn. Follow the road round & take the second turning on the right, and then the turning on the left signposted Higham Hall. Higham Hall is then half a mile up the hill on the left. If coming from Carlisle (A595) direction, turn left at Bothel (A591) & travel as far as the Castle Inn. Turn right here (B5291), bear right after Ouse Bridge & then take the second turning on the right.
Isel, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 0QG
Isel Hall is a private home standing on a steep slope above the River Derwent, commanding glorious views across the river to the Lakeland Fells. The oldest parts are the Great Hall and Pele Tower, which date to around 1400. Many improvements have been made to the building, particularly the Pele tower, and to the terrace and sunken garden. A guided tour will be provided with some reference to life during World War 1 in commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the war.
Booking Details: There will be 4 tours in total, by advance ticket only - these must be pre-booked. Contact: Cockermouth Tourist Information Centre Call: 01900 822634 Write to: 4 Kings Arms Lane, Main Street, Cockermouth Booking opens: 1 July 2014 Booking closes: 6 September 2014
Access Information: Limited toilet facilities available by request only.
Additional Information: Max 10 people per tour/session.
Directions: From Cockermouth, take Isel Road out of town. After 3.5 miles turn left for Isel over Isel Bridge. Keep left & then Isel Hall is on your left after a further half mile. From the north, Isel Hall is a mile south east of the village of Blindcrake. Tickets must be obtained in advance from Cockermouth Tourist Information Centre. This is in Kings Arms Lane, off Main Street between 'Boots' and 'Cockermouth Travel'.
13 Market Place, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9NH
An extraordinary shop firmly rooted as a traditional Ironmonger, established and little changed from 1836. JB Banks was started by John Banks in 1836. His son, also John, joined to make JB Banks & Son and then it became a limited company on 5 January 1933. The deeds of the shop bear the signature of William Wordsworth's father, land agent for Lord Lowther. Visitors to the shop will be able to view the 'back of the shop' exhibition of artefacts collected over the history of the shop as well as the normal shop area. In commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of World War 1, some relevance of shop life during 1914-18 will be included.
Access Information: Care needed in climbing the steep stairs with limited handrail.
Challoner Street, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9QS
This is the home of the Skiddaw Lodge, built in 1885. Two previous lodges, dating back to 1788 existed, but no records of these are known. This Lodge met in a variety of places, including the Court House and in Market Place. Initially this building in Challoner Street was leased but became the property of the Lodge in 1931. Richard Bourke, later to become Earl Mayo, was a member from the beginning (his statue is on Main Street). Members of the Lodge will be on hand to talk about the Lodge & Free Masonry and answer any questions arising. In addition, 2014 is the 150th year anniversary of Skiddaw Lodge and there will a focus on this anniversary celebration.
Access Information: The main hall is upstairs.
Directions: From Main Street go up Challoner Street. This is a narrow one way street on the south side of Main Street, running parallel to Station Street, the entrance being between the Globe Hotel & the Chidren's Society Charity Shop. The Masonic Hall is 100 metres up Challoner Street on the right hand side. The building is not distinctive externally but will have local signage.
Broomlands Field, Low Road, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 0HH
A programme of archaeological research is being undertaken in the area around Cockermouth and Papcastle, focusing on Roman activity related to the Roman fort of Derventio and the Derwent river valley. The current project is called 'Discovering Derventio' and runs from July 2012 for 3 years. The third major excavation in this project will take place in September 2014. The location of the 2014 dig is in Broomlands Field on the East side of the River Derwent. The main objective will be to investigate 'enclosures' revealed by geophysics and to investigate the nature of the Roman activity on this side of the river. In addition, opportunity will be taken to look for evidence of a foundation for a Roman bridge. Visitors will be able to visit the site, observe the work in progress and ask questions relating to the discoveries so far. Families are encouraged to come and will be very welome.
Access Information: The archaeological dig will be in a field adjacent to the river. Depending on the prevailing weather conditions, it may well be muddy and suitable footwear such as wellington boots is advised.
Directions: The site of the excavation is in relatively easy walking distance from Cockermouth Town Centre. Access to the site itself will be down the path alonside the Lakes Home Centre, opposite Aldi. A sign will be placed at the top of the lane for Heritage Open Day.
Cockermouth Town Hall, Market Street, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9NP
In the foyer of the Town Hall building, there is an ongoing exhibition of artefacts discovered so far during the 'Discovering Derventio' project. This project is running from 2012 until the end of 2015 and is a community project led by Grampus Heritage & Training Ltd and funded by the Heritage Lottery fund. The key aim is to increase the understanding of the nature and extent of the Roman settlement in and around the Derwent Valley extending from the Roman fort of Derventio. This exhibition will be open as usual on both the Thursday & Friday of Heritage Open Days, but in the Friday afternoon, it will be manned by project staff to provide interpretation of the exhibits. There will also be an opportunity to handle some archaeology and visitors are invited to bring along their own findings for expert interpretation. Children will have the opportunity to handle examples of archaeological finds.
Additional Information: This event is put on in association another Heritage Open Day event, an open day at the current dig site (Papcastle Archaeological Dig Open Day).
Directions: From Market Place, turn into Market Street which is signposted for car parking. Go straight on past the car park & up the hill. The Town Hall is in front of you, with 'lions' each side of the entrance door.
38-42 Market Place, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9NG
A contemporary arts and crafts gallery situated in a historic 14th century building that includes the original bread oven, fire places and plaster work. The downstairs gallery consists of four rooms, each with its unique character. The oak beams have been dated to 1390 and the original flagstone floor still remains. The upstairs, with its Tudor ceiling dated 1598, was the home of the Percy bailiff. It is divided into three rooms. Staff will be on hand to answer any questions.
St Bridget's Church, Brigham, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 0XN
St Bridget's Church is a Grade I listed Norman Church dating from the 11th century. It stands on a site of worship founded by the nuns of St Bridget in around 500AD. In around 1870, extensive restoration work was carried out by the architect William Butterfield. This restoration included the painting of the plaster ceilings in the Nave and South Aisle to Butterfield's full size cartoon design of stars, foliage and monograms. These ceilings were restored in October 2013 with the aid of a Heritage Lottery Grant and the lighting has since been replaced to illuminate the ceilings. A spectacular wall hanging has recently been made by local ladies celebrating the ceilings. John Wordsworth, son of William, was Rector here for many years & there is a commemorative window. Visitors will be able to tour the church, see the restored ceilings & view an exhibition, with church guides on hand.
Directions: The church is on the approach to Brigham off the A66, 3 miles west of Cockermouth.
Low Lorton, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9UP
Winder Hall, previously known as Lorton Hall, is now a luxurious country house hotel. However, it was once a grand Jacobean manor house that is known to have been renovated in around 1663 and has an attached 3-storey pele tower, reputedly dating from the 14th century but clearly at least substantially rebuilt in the 19th century. (NB: pele tower is not now part of Winder Hall.) John & Mary Winder and their 10 children were the first ‘Winders' to live in the mansion and Mary is believed to have entertained Charles II here before he came to the throne after the execution of Charles I. Features include priest holes, oak panelling and Carolingian & Jacobean furniture. Visitors will be able to wander freely through the hotel and grounds, with staff on hand to answer questions.
Access Information: Wheelchair access is available to the ground floor only. Please note that the driveway to the hotel entrance is of a gravel construction.
Directions: From Cockermouth, drive through Low Lorton towards Buttermere. Winder Hall Country House is clearly marked on your right-hand side on the south side of the village.
Main Street, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9RX
You are guaranteed a warm welcome, whether you meet the maid, manservant or one of our knowledgable 21st-century guides. They will give you a taste of history in the Georgian kitchen and you can marvel at stories brought to you by a ghostly hologram figure from the past. Outside, explore William's beloved garden. This inspired many of his poems and is full of 18th-century flowers, fruit and vegetables - all used in the house. Relax in the summerhouse and try the homemade cakes and scones in our cafe. Take in a talk, tasting or children's holiday activity. As featured on ITV. Children can dress up in replica clothes available in the children's bedroom, there are trails to follow round the house and garden, and skittles in the courtyard.
Access Information: Wheelchair accessible lift to the ground floor of the house and Cafe. Virtual tour, and audio tour available.
Kirkgate Centre, Kirkgate, Cockermouth, Cumbria, CA13 9PJ
A lecture organised as part of the Cockermouth commemorations of the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of World War 1. Stuart Eastwood of the Border Regiment Museum will focus on diet during the war period both locally and on the front line in a talk called 'What did you eat in the trenches, Grandad?'
Additional Information: Entry will be by (free) ticket, obtainable in advance from the Kirkgate Centre or on the door. This lecture is part of a programme of events in Cockermouth commemorating the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of World War 1.
Directions: The Kirkgate Centre is on Kirkgate which runs off the south end of Market Place. There is pay & display parking signposted off Market Place.
Kirkhead Tower, Kirkhead Road, Kents Bank, Grange Over Sands, Cumbria
Visitors will have the opportunity to join Morecambe Bay Partnership on a short guided walk, from Kents Bank railway station to the usually inaccessible Kirkhead Tower. Your guide will give you a brief site tour and history of the site. Visitors will also be able to enjoy the spectacular views of Morecambe Bay from this viewpoint. This event is being delivered by Morecambe Bay Partnership as part of the Heritage Lottery Funded Headlands to Headspace Landscape Partnership Scheme. Site tours will be running from Kents Bank Station to Kirkhead Tower and last between 1 hour and 1 hour 30 minutes depending on the pace of walkers. Event not suitable for children under the age of 5.
Booking Details: Booking. Tickets are required for this event but can be provided free of charge online. Go to: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/kirkhead-tower-a-heritage-open-day-tour-of-the-tower-on-the-hill-with-morecambe-bay-partnership-tickets-12476783395 Booking opens: 4 August 2014 Booking closes: 12 September 2014
Access Information: The route from Kents Bank station to Kirkhead Tower is fairly steep. The first section involves walking up a relatively steep road (in places without a pavement). The second section is situated in pasture and involves walking up a relatively steep but short (0.2km) incline. Stout footwear must be worn as the ground is uneven/undulating and may be muddy. Unfortunately, the site is not accessible to trampers/wheelchairs/prams due to limited width of gates. There is the possibility of cows in the field, therefore, no dogs are permitted on the HOD.
Additional Information: Max 15 people per tour/session.
Directions: Please meet outside Kents Bank railway station for a short walk to Kirkhead Tower.
Bell Hill, Lindale Village, Grange over Sands, Cumbria, LA11 6LD
We are holding an art exhibition featuring the work of local artists for the Heritage Open Days. St Paul's Church was designed by Kendal architect, George Webster, whose tomb is located in the church grounds. The village of Lindale is also the former home of iron founder, John Wilkinson, who is said to be buried in an iron coffin beneath the church.
National Trust Allan Bank, Grasmere, Cumbria, LA22 9QB
Opened to the public for the first time ever in March 2012, Allan Bank is a place to relax by a cosy fire with a cup of tea. Once home to William Wordsworth and given as a bequest to the nation by National Trust founder Canon Rawnsley, Allan Bank was rescued from a fire in 2011. Now partially restored and undecorated, the house offers you the opportunity to explore the many layers of this home's fascinating history. At Allan Bank you really can relax and enjoy the home as if it were your own. Dogs and muddy boots are welcome. There’s nothing better than a nice slice of cake to go with that cup of tea. We have a range of home baked cakes, freshly made sandwiches and soups available to buy from our newly renovated kitchen café. Dorothy Wordsworth said that the grounds and woodland were “a Childs’ paradise, with ample gardens for them to play” and today they present many opportunities for natural play and adventure. The woods are a haven for red squirrels, birds and other wildlife. Hunt for bugs, play on a rope swing or explore the mystery tunnel. In the house you are welcome to paint a masterpiece in the art room, compose a poem in Wordsworth’s study, or play with games and toys.
Access Information: Limited Blue Badge parking available for disabled visitors only. Parking: Three pay and display car parks in Grasmere village (not National Trust).
Directions: Allan Bank is a short 10 minute walk up the hill from the Red Lion Hotel / Miller Howe Café in centre of village. See map on Visitor Information page for further directions.
Colthouse, Hawkshead, Cumbria, LA22 0JU
Early seventeenth-century Quaker meeting house and burial ground.
Directions: Meeting House is sign-posted.
Hawkshead Hill, near Hawkshead, Hawkshead, Cumbria, LA22 0PW
The Chapel has its origins in a 1678 covenant. It was renovated in 2006, and now provides an airy, homely and welcoming place which is ideal for quiet reflection, for discovering its history, browsing through the photograph and meditative albums, engaging with the prayer corner, and visiting the Balcony Display (which currently features Psalm 104: God the Creator and Provider). The grounds contain a small graveyard, a poustinia (prayer place), walled garden, an outdoor baptistry, orchard, summer house - and many seats. The open spaces make it suitable for children and families. Clipboards, paper and crayons are available in the chapel.
Access Information: Disabled access is available to the rear of the buildings. A path takes you from the parking area, round the toilet block, and straight to the chapel back door. A fully accessible path leads behind the buildings to the grounds. It should be noted that it is then necessary to cross a mown area before reaching another fully accessible path, as well as mown paths in the graveyard.
Additional Information: The chapel and grounds are always open for visits. There are self-serve drinks available in the chapel.
Directions: Hawkshead Hill Chapel is on the B5285 which runs to Coniston from its junction with the B5286. The Chapel is on the RHS, about .8 mile from this junction, and just before a right turn to Tarn Hows. Look for a blue sign at the point where buildings, on either side of the road, come into view, and at the point where the road narrows and bends.
Cumbria Archive Centre, Kendal, County Offices, Stricklandgate, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 4RQ
Open morning at Cumbria Archive Centre, Kendal. See original archives and a display about the First World War and Cumbria. See behind the scenes with a tour of our strongroom and the home of our archive treasures. Talk to the experts about your research interests (family history, history of your house or local history). Event not suitable for children under the age of 4.
Access Information: Please ring us in advance with any queries and for information about access. Parking is limited
Branthwaite Brow, Market Place, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 4TN
Discover Kendal's hidden gem: its oldest nonconformist chapel, built in 1720, with past attendees including William Wordsworth. Relax in the beautiful chapel garden, join us for morning coffee (9.30-12.00) in the Victorian schoolroom, or come and look around the historic chapel building. Learn about the history of the chapel with our guides who will show you around the buildings. Special event: come and look at the stories of members' relatives who were involved in the First World War – on display in the schoolroom.
Additional Information: Grade II listed building. Chapel built 1720; restored and schoolroom added 1882. Very good set of finely carved early C18 tombstones fastened to walls in garden. Unitarian congregation still use the chapel today.
Directions: At the top end of Market Place, next to the George and Dragon.
Town Hall, Highgate, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 4DL
As part of Heritage Open Days, Kendal Town Council invites members of the public to visit The Mayor's Parlour, Kendal Town Hall.
Booking Details: Contact: Carolyn Moffat Call: 01539 793490 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Write to: Kendal Town Council, Town Hall, Kendal, LA9 4DL Booking opens: 19 May 2014 09:30 Booking closes: 11 September 2014 12:30
Directions: Use the main entrance to the Town Hall located on Highgate. Public transport to Kendal is widely available.
Barrow House, Borrowdale, Keswick, Cumbria, CA12 5UR
From follies to fell running, explore the fascinating history and grounds of Barrow House, a Georgian mansion that was built for Joseph Pocklington in 1787. Guided tours of the house will be running throughout the afternoon and there will be tours of the grounds (approximately 20 minutes long and some uneven ground) at 1pm and 3pm. Children (and the young at heart) can design a folly, decorate gingerbread biscuits, colour in Barrow House, and try the red squirrel trail. Our history material will be on display in the dining room, where you can also enjoy Georgian-style refreshments and a good view of our waterfall and wildlife. As well as the heritage activities, children can play safely in the hostel grounds, or play table tennis, pool, and table football in our separate indoor games rooms. There is also a large selection of books, games, and colouring pencils in our comfortable lounge.
Access Information: The property hasn't been upgraded yet for disabled access so there are steps and stairs on the tour.
Additional Information: Barrow House was sold by the YHA in November 2011. We are now an independent hostel, offering affordable accommodation, meals, and activities for families, groups, and individuals. Derwentwater Independent Hostel is a UK-registered, not-for-profit charity, working closely with the National Trust and local activity providers.
Directions: We are two miles from Keswick on the B5289 road to Borrowdale. We are 150 metres along the Borrowdale road from the junction to Ashness Bridge/Watendlath. There is a cottage and a bus stop at the bottom of the drive. You can travel here on the 78 bus or the Keswick Launch. If you are travelling from Borrowdale, the hostel is about half a mile past the Kettlewell National Trust car park.
Kirksanton Village Hall, Kirksanton, Cumbria, LA18 4NN
Featuring the work of Kirksanton Art Group members, Includes a general selection of art works in all media. Some paintings are for sale, but we want to invite any art lover to come and browse and see what we have created.
Haverigg School, Atkinson Street, Haverigg, Millom, Cumbria, LA18 4HA
Looking at heroes from the from WW1 to the present day Help for Heroes.
Millom, Cumbria, LA18 5EY
The ancient parish church of Millom. Grade 1 listed building. Offering examples of Norman construction and the rare Fish Window and the Archangel Window designed by Hugh Arnold killed at Gallipoli. Also some finely carved monuments to members of the Huddleston family.
Access Information: Two steps into church.
Millom, Cumbria, LA18 5EY
Reflective music played on the organ dedicated to the men who gave their lives in the Great War and including poetry readings from WWI poets - Light refreshments in The Old School afterwards.
Access Information: Two steps into church. Refreshments and toilet available in The Old School, Holy Trinity.
Additional Information: You are welcome to pay £8 and attend a Special Event In the Old School Room on Friday 11th Sept. A WW1 supper, produced as far as possible using foodstuffs available during the 1914-18 period, will be served following the talk in church. There will be a sing-song afterwards, and costumes of the times are optional. £8 per person. Friday: Men of the WW1 memorial’ a talk by Marshall Mossop.
Directions: Next to Millom Castle
Station Building, Station Road, Millom, Cumbria, LA18 5AA
Discover the lost industrial heritage of this small rural town on a remarkable journey through the past, learn about the people, a celebrated poet and the Royal Air Force.
Devonshire Road, Duddon Estuary, Millom, Cumbria, LA18 4JS
Guided walk featuring the history of the Ironworks and the present nature reserve. Meet at the Reserve entrance at Devonshire Road. Rough ground - suitable footwear and outdoor clothing required.
Cambridge Street, Millom, Cumbria, LA18 5BB
A chance to look inside the Masonic Hall.
Queen Street, Millom, Cumbria, LA18 4BH
The church dates from 1868 and was extensively refurbished and enlarged in 2008. Displays include historic photographs and documents including new information relating to local families in WW1.
Additional Information: 1100: Family service
Ghyll Scaur Quarry, Bardon Aggregates, The Hill, Millom, Cumbria, LA18 5JW
Viewing area above Ghyll Scaur Quarry with local rock exhibits with descriptions. Periodic talks by staff about geology of quarry.
Access Information: Vehicular access for people with restricted mobility can be arranged, tel. 01229 774222.
Directions: Access to the quarry itself is strictly prohibited and to the access the park please DO NOT use the main quarry entrance. For entry from School Ellis turn off: 0.4 miles to parking area on left: walk into Lowther Road Estates woodland following signs to Rock Park 200 yards up track.
Millom Network Centre, Salthouse Road, Millom, Cumbria, LA18 5AB
A talk about a significant collection of dairy items and chemist bottles dating from the Georgian to Edwardian era. This fascinating talk by Duane Farren will reveal part of his personal bottle collection.
Directions: next to Millom School
St George's Road, Millom, Cumbria, LA18 4JE
Church designed by Paley and Austin and consecrated in 1877. Features the stunning Norman Nicholson memorial window.
Access Information: Most areas of the building accessible including ramps.
Additional Information: Service 0930
Heron Corn Mill, Mill Lane, Beetham, Milnthorpe, Cumbria, LA7 7PQ
Come along and see the flou being milled, then try different fresh breads and join in the disscussion on stoneground versus shop-bought products! Just drop in to the mill and have a wander around and a chat with Miller Stuart Hobbs. Heron Corn Mill is suitable for people of all ages, the mill is well equip with informative display boards and also interactive models for those who prefer a more hands on approach to learning! Event not suitable for children under the age of 3.
Access Information: Partial wheelchair access is available on site, however there is a section of gravel car park to negotiate before the paved path becomes accessible. The path down to the mill is wheelchair friendly, although it is rather steep. Unfortunately, due to the nature of the Grade II* Listed building, wheelchair access is not available to the top floor of the mill.
Additional Information: Max 20 people per tour/session.
Temple Sowerby, Penrith, Cumbria, CA10 1SP
See the house now at the beginning of our journey to bring it back to life. There has been a building on the site since 1228. The present, largely 17th century, house is unfurnished and has been empty since it ceased to be a nursing home in the late 1990s, but still retains historical features and has fascinating stories to tell. The tranquil walled gardens are best known for their herb garden and orchards with a collection of local apple varieties; beyond the walls woodland paths lead to the restored watermill, now producing flour again after a gap of 70 years. Children's trail available.
Access Information: Shop, tearoom, walled gardens, ground floor of house and information room at watermill w/chr accessible. Access map available.
Additional Information: Free admission to the garden, watermill, woodland walks and unfurnished ground floor rooms of Acorn Bank house. Orchard advice sessions and additional guided tours of the house (including rooms not generally open to the public) on Heritage Open Day. Numbers limited to 12 on each house tour.
Directions: Approx 1 mile from the A66, midway between Penrith and Appleby.
Walls Drive, Ravenglass, Cumbria, CA18 1SR
What is being dug up in Ravenglass? Take part in the on-site activities and get your hands on some real Roman artefacts. Have a go at digging and find out more about the Romans in Ravenglass. Bring your finds along to be identified by the Portable Antiquities Scheme (Friday 12 September only). Don’t forget to join one of the regular tours of of the excavation site. Suitable for aged 7 and upwards. Young people under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult.
Access Information: Access to the site is limited, please contact Lisa Keys on 07761441025 or email email@example.com if you have special access requirements.
Directions: Parking for the events: Lake District National Park Authority car park on Croftlands Drive, Ravenglass, CA18 1SJ. Charges apply. The site will be sign-posted from the car park. Ravenglass can be reached from the North or South via the A595.
Farfield Mill, Garsdale Rd, Sedbergh, Cumbria, LA10 5LW
Farfield Mill is a Converted Victorian Mill now home to a thriving Arts & Heritage centre. Open daily through out the year, Farfield Mill is home to 15 working artists studios, 3 exhibitions spaces with exhibitions changing bi-monthly and gallery space dedicated to artists from the north of England. This years Heritage Open Day coincides with Sedbergh's SheepFest - which is hosting events throughout the weekend not only in Sedbergh but in Farfield Mill, there will be a sheep trail, a play about the history of Farfield Mill, craft stalls, the technicolour dreamcoat and much more.......... There will also be a free shuttle bus running every 20 mins from Sedbergh to Farfield Mill. Exhibitions planned for this period will feature around wool, both in its uses as an art form and the history of Sedbergh Wool Town. Sheepy things for all to do however young or old!!
Directions: Farfield Mill is one mile out of Sedbergh on the A684 towards Hawes. Follow the Brown signs from Sedbergh, please do not follow your Sat Nav.
Conishead Priory and Buddhist Temple, A5087 Coast Road, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 9QQ
Temple, Conservatory Café, Gift Shop, Gardens, Woodland, Beach. Unique Kadampa Buddhist Temple and Romantic Gothic Mansion surrounded by attractive gardens and woodlands. Free Guided Tours will tell you about the history of Conishead since it began as a hospital run by Augustinian monks in 1160, and its development as an international Kadampa Buddhist Centre since 1976. Free leaflet on woodland walks to Morecambe Bay. Families welcome. Bring a picnic. Free parking and admission.
Access Information: Full wheelchair access. Disabled toilet near Temple. No stairs on Guided Tours. 6 minute easy walk from historic house to Temple.
Additional Information: Max 40 people per tour/session. Bus Service No. 11 along A5087 Coast Road between Ulverston (Bus stop in Victoria Road by Catholic Church) and Barrow. Ulverston Train station 2 miles away.
Directions: 2 miles south of Ulverston on A5087 Coast Road. Sat Nav LA12 9QQ. 26 miles / 30 minutes from M6 Junction 36. Follow signs for A590 Barrow. In Ulverston take second exit at roundabout by Booths Supermarket, take second left onto A5087 Coast Road signposted Bardsea and ‘Coastal route to Barrow’. After 2 miles look for tourist sign.
Newland, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 7QG
The site contains the remains of the Newland Charcoal Iron Furnace, an 18th century water powered blast furnace used for about 150 years to produce pig iron. Visitors are welcome to look at the displays showing the history of the furnace and its restoration. Information on related industries is also provided. Guided tours around the furnace and surrounding hamlet are provided throughout the day. Children supervised by parents or guardians are more than welcome.
Access Information: Some of the site & tour route is available to wheelchair users. Parking is limited to about 6 vehicles. There is no room for coach parking.
Directions: The furnace is located in the hamlet of Newland off the A590, 1 mile north east of Ulverston. The entrance to the furnace will be signed from the A590.
Swarthmoor Hall Lane, Ulverston, Cumbria, LA12 0JQ
16th/17th century house with historic rooms furnished with a substantial collection of 17th century furniture and artefacts. In 1652 George Fox visited the house and from this event the Quakers or The Religious Society of Friends emerged into the world. An audio tour is available (40 mins) or a film version for the disabled. A library room contains a substantial collection of early books, primarily relating to the Quakers. The lovely gardens and meadow are also open, which contain a variety of wildlife.
Access Information: Gardens and Grounds wheelchair accessible. Great Hall of the historic rooms accessible using ramp to get in to the building. Other rooms have 2-3 stairs or flights of stairs. Wheelchair available on site.
Directions: Coming from Kendal follow the A590 through Ulverston and turn left at second set of traffic lights for Swarthmoor Hall & Railway station. Go past school on left and turn right at top of hill, then follow sign after about 200 yds. From Barrow turn right at traffic lights entering Ulverston, SH and Railway Station.
Cumbria Archive and Local Studies Centre, Scotch Street, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 7NL
Ever wanted to find out how to start your West Cumbrian family tree? Introductory sessions from expert staff will give you confidence and knowledge to get started, by telling you of the wealth of unique sources at our disposal and showing you how to use our searchroom. 45 minute group sessions.
Whitehaven Archive and Local Studies Centre, Scotch Street, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 7NL
See the secrets of the archives, with this chance to visit the present home of Whitehaven Archive and Local Studies Centre, housed in the former police station cells (specialist storage not normally open to the public). Go behind-the-scenes on a strongroom tour, visit our public searchroom, and see the exhibition on West Cumbrian artist Percy Kelly.
44 Irish Street, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 7BY
More than 300 years after No. 44 Irish Street was first built as a grand home for a rich merchant and later the affluent business men and women of Whitehaven, and 100 years after it was redeveloped to become the Whitehaven YMCA, the building is about to undergo another transformation. Now derelict, the building is about to be transformed into an iconic Foyer. Foyers are based on a French model and create accommodation and support facilities for young people, who need help with their transition into independent living and employment. The development is a joint venture between the Howgill Family Centre and Impact Housing. This will be the last opportunity for you to take one final look round the building before restoration and redevelopment works get into full swing. So why not take a look now and then again this time next year when works will be nearly complete.
Booking Details: Places are strictly limited and booking is essential. Contact: Jane Taylor Call: 01946 598351 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Booking opens: 11 August 2014 10:00 Booking closes: 5 September 2014 12:00
Access Information: The building is currently in a poor state of repair, so you will be required to wear a hard hat (which will be provided) and suitable footwear. You will need to be able to walk on uneven surfaces and climb stairs and steps. The tour is not suitable for children under the age of 14 or the infirm. There are no parking or toilet facilities on site.
Additional Information: Max 12 people per tour/session.
St. Michael's Church, Bowness on Solway, Wigton, Cumbria, CA7 5AF
St Michael's Church reflects the life on the Solway dating back to Norman times. The Norman Font, the old bells of 1626, with their swashbuckling story, and the variety of stained glass windows are all worth seeing. Look for stones from the Roman Wall and smugglers graves. Modern embroideries reflect many aspects of the Church including the Victorian tiles in the sanctuary.
Access Information: Although there are no ramps for wheelchairs, access is possible.
Additional Information: Tea, coffee and soft drinks will be available. A free church trail is suitable for all ages to follow.
Directions: Bowness on Solway marks one end of the Hadrian's Wall Trail. The church is clearly signed in the centre of the village. At the Kings Arms follow the Kirkbride road and the church is approximately 60m on the left.
Troutbeck Bridge, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 1LF
Calgarth Park is a Grade II listed Georgian mansion built in 1790 by Richard Watson, Bishop of Llandaff. Set in lovely parkland and with views of Lake Windermere, the house was frequently visited by Wordsworth and Southey. It ceased being a gentleman's residence in 1916 when it was transformed into a hospital for WWI Belgian and British casualties. From 1920 to 1970, it was the Ethel Hedley Orthopaedic Hospital for Children. Converted into self-contained flats in the early 1970s, Calgarth has been run on a not-for-profit basis by the Lake District Housing Association since 1974, providing rental retirement accommodation for those over 55. There will be short tours available and displays of photographs and stories about the history of the house. Home-baked refreshments on sale.
Access Information: Wheelchair access to ground floor of house and terrace. Wheelchairs can access toilets but no disabled persons' facilities. Some steps in gardens.
Directions: From Windermere direction on the A591 towards Ambleside, turn first left after the petrol station at Troutbeck Bridge and come down our private drive. Watch for speed bumps, wildlife and our residents.
Troutbeck, Windermere, Cumbria, LA23 1LB
Free entry to this picturesque, 17th century farmhouse. Townend belonged to the Browne family for 400 years; come and see what makes this such a special house. Children's trail available.
Access Information: Site has some steps and slopes both inside and outside the house - please telephone for more information.
Old Fire Station, King Street, Workington, Cumbria, CA14 4DR
The building houses part of the Trust's collection of preserved local buses and fire appliances. See and climb aboard buses from the 1970s that were built in Workington at the Leyland factory. View our displays of West Cumbrian road and rail transport. Find out how Workington made the best railway lines in the world. Look at our volunteering opportunities and try our educational quiz sheets. Sales stand and light refreshments.
Access Information: Wheelchair access into the ground floor of the buildings. There are steps up into the vehicles.
Additional Information: Saturday is double decker day, with guest double decker buses for you to enjoy. Sunday is emergency vehicles day with a selection of vehicles requested from the emergency services. On both day we will run town tours from the forecourt every half hour from 1215 to 1515. These use one of our heritage buses and last about 20 minutes.
Directions: Within easy walking distance of bus station, local bus stops and town centre parking. Town centre shops, pubs and cafes nearby. Easy walking to Helena Thompson Museum, Workington Hall and Theatre Royal.